Davy Crockett’s Last Song

The last song ever written by Davy Crockett has recently been uncovered in the attic of a relative of Susanna Hannig, a survivor of the Alamo.  Mrs. Hannig, whose first husband Almeron Dickinson died in that battle, was one of the women who were spared by General Santa Anna after the Alamo had been taken.  According to some notes on the back of the page on which the song was written, Davy Crockett had befriended an armadillo living in the old mission.  Mr. Crockett composed the song while feeding the animal by hand, and committed the song to paper that day.  He then placed it in the care of Mrs. Hannig (Mrs. Dickinson at the time) for safe-keeping.

Davy Crockett was a famous frontiersman and congressman, and was popularly called the King of the Wild Frontier.  It is not known if Davy Crockett wrote any other songs, but this was certainly his last one.  The tune has been lost, but the lyrics follow:

Don’t Cry For Me Armadillo

It won’t be easy, my little friend

Knowing these days are prob’ly my last

I still wanted to explore and have lots more fun

You won’t believe me

All you will see is a man ready to fight

I’d rather be hunting for bear

This indeed may be my last night

 

I couldn’t let it happen, I had to pee

Couldn’t let myself go in my pants

Going behind boxes, staying out of the view

So I lost freedom

Relieving myself, missed the line Travis drew

When he gave one last chance to leave

I never expected him to

 

Don’t cry for me Armadillo

The truth is I never meant to

Stay here and get killed

Lose my existence

But I’ve had a good life

So what’s the difference

 

And as for leaving, it was too late

When so many others had decided to stay

I couldn’t look like a chicken and run away

So my decision

It was not the selection I’d like it to be

But here is where my life will end

I like you, and I hope you like me

 

Don’t cry for me Armadillo

The truth is I never meant to

Stay here and get killed

Lose my existence

But I’ve had a good life

So what’s the difference

 

Am I going nuts?

Talking to a critter who cannot understand

But which seems to listen to the words that I say

And eats out of my hand

About Mark James Wooding

I was born. I was scared. I tried to get back to the warm place, but they wouldn't let me. I cried. Since that quite unexpected and traumatic event, I've been trying to make the best of things. I've written a book called Seek Wisdom, Practice Kindness, which contains a philosophy of life as well as an attempt to describe why people do the things they do. I edited a book called The Magical World of Poetry, a collection of public domain poetry that includes many of the traditional favorites and a few others I was fortunate enough to come across. Both books can be read on their respective websites, which are listed in my Links section. I also wrote a novel called Sasha and Samantha Save the World, which is available on Amazon.com.
This entry was posted in Humor. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

