The Disadvantage of Classroom Learning

One disadvantage which is common with mass production education is the teaching of students in large groups. In most classes there is usually a small group who would be more comfortable learning at a faster pace, and another small group which would profit from learning at a slower pace. The teacher, however, is constrained by having to try to keep them all moving along together at roughly the same pace in order to get most of them to the required level of attainment by the end of the school year. This results in the faster-learning kids getting bored and the slower-learning kids getting frustrated, although it usually isn’t a problem for the kids with an average learning speed.

Years ago I heard of a private school in another state wherein the children were each given individual packets of instructions, and were allowed to advance through those packets at their own pace instead of being herded as a group. In a system like that, the children could learn more comfortably, but to the best of my knowledge that system is not practiced in elementary schools in areas where I’ve lived.

With homeschooling, I’m able to dedicate individual time to each of my daughters so that each can learn at her own pace.  In my opinion, that is one of the key advantages of this form of education.

About Mark James Wooding

I was born. I was scared. I tried to get back to the warm place, but they wouldn't let me. I cried. Since that quite unexpected and traumatic event, I've been trying to make the best of things. I've written a book called Seek Wisdom, Practice Kindness, which contains a philosophy of life as well as an attempt to describe why people do the things they do. I edited a book called The Magical World of Poetry, a collection of public domain poetry that includes many of the traditional favorites and a few others I was fortunate enough to come across. Both books can be read on their respective websites, which are listed in my Links section. I also wrote a novel called Sasha and Samantha Save the World, which is available on Amazon.com.
This entry was posted in Homeschool. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

